- Advertisement -

The Snowmobile Hall of Fame (SHOF) and Museum in St. Germain, Wis., announce its four inductees for 2021: John Faeo, Dale Loritz, Craig Marchbank, and Brian Sturgeon.

These honorees will be inducted into the SHOF during a two-day induction ceremony weekend, February 18-19, 2022 in St. Germain, coinciding with the 38th Annual Ride With The Champs and other events, presented by Livingston’s Arctic Cat. All snowmobile enthusiasts and race fans are invited.

The inductees for 2021 are:

John Faeo (Racer)

John Faeo is synonymous with the famed 2,000-mile Iron Dog through the Alaska’s rugged and remote wilderness, winning this grueling multi-day event seven times between 1984 and 1996. In addition to his record-tying number of victories, the Wasilla, AK, legend also finished the Iron Dog race 23 consecutive times, with 13 podium finishes.

Fast, smart and consistent beyond measure, Faeo is also a 9-time Alaska Motor Musher XC race champion; a 6-time winner of the Talkeetna-to-Anchorage XC, and an 11-time Alaska Calcutta 120 XC Champ. He raced on Polaris snowmobiles for the majority of his career.

Dale Loritz (Racer)

One of the most enduring oval racers of his generation, Dale Loritz of Green Bay, WI, scored innumerable wins—in a range of classes—at all levels of the sport. He qualified for the Eagle River World Championships an astounding 18 times, and won the pinnacle event in 1994 and 1995.

Racing for Ski-Doo throughout his career, Loritz notched 14 USSA high-point class championships, including seven Formula 1 titles. He was the USSA and Snow Week magazine Driver of the year in 1989, as well as USSA Oval Racer of the Year (2003) and a 2-time Sportsman of the Year.

Craig Marchbank (Racer)

Motivated, focused and unwavering in his pursuit of success, Craig Marchbank of New Lennox, IL, set benchmarks and records in snowmobile drag racing that may never be exceeded.

In a 30-year career that began in 1982, Marchbank claimed more than 2,200 class final victories en route to 26 High Point Championships in Pro Stock and 24 High Point Championships in Improved Stock, all aboard Ski-Doo snowmobiles. He was the Minnesota Cup Champion a record nine times; a 5-time Michigan Cup Champion; and 3-time Wisconsin Cup Champion. He was the 2005 Snow Week magazine Racer of the Year, as well as the ISR Woody’s Traction Racer of the Year.

Brian Sturgeon (Racer)

Team Arctic’s Brian Sturgeon of Thief River Falls, MN, achieved remarkable success in snowmobile oval and terrain competitions. In ovals, Sturgeon won 12 Eagle River World Championship class titles, including the Formula III win in 1995. He also earned nine USSA High Point Championships, including eight in Stock classes and one in Formula III.

In ice lemans he won two MRP Formula III high-point championship and World Series titles, and he scored two snocross Pro Class wins at the Duluth National. He was awarded Racer of the Year honors by Snow Week magazine, SnoWest magazine, and MIRA. After retiring from racing, Sturgeon became the Arctic Cat Race Manager beginning in 1999.

Snowmobile racing fans and enthusiasts are invited to the 38th Annual Ride with The Champs and induction ceremony weekend, presented by Livingston’s Arctic Cat, February 18-19, 2022. The expanded two-day event features guest speakers, vintage and modern trail riding opportunities, a meet-and-greet with past and current SHOF inductees along with other snowmobile industry celebrities, and a formal induction ceremony with dinner. In addition, the Snowmobile Hall of Fame Museum will be open throughout the weekend.

Learn more details on the complete weekend schedule and purchase advance tickets at snowmobilehalloffame.com.

Trending Now



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Comments