Kody Kamm Wins His First ISOC Pro Open

- Advertisement -

Polaris snocross racer Kody Kamm (Hentges Racing) won six straight heat races and two of three Pro Open finals at the ISOC season finale in Lake Geneva, Wis., to win the 2016-2017 Pro Open championship. Kamm earned an incredible 174 of 177 available points, finishing with 799 points and winning the title by 13.

Polaris Racer Elina Ohman (Davies Racing) won the ISOC Pro-Am Women’s points title, and Jake Angove (Judnick Motorsports) finished second in Pro Lite points.

Kamm entered the weekend second in points, 28 points out of first. ISOC also awarded five bonus points for each heat-race win during the season. Kamm took full advantage by winning all six heats this past weekend, earning him an additional 30 points. He won the Pro Open finals on Friday night and Sunday, and finished second in the Saturday final.

“I had lot of ups and down this year. I separated my shoulder and thought I was done after that, but I won my first race back,” Kamm said after receiving the champion’s red number plate. “This weekend I felt great, no shoulder pain at all. This is a dream come true.”

Kamm won the Pro Lite title in 2011-2012 and ended that season by moving up to race – and win – the Pro Open finale. His best previous finish in Pro Open points was second place in 2013-2014, and now the Kenosha, Wis., racer is a champion at age 23.

In 17 finals this season, he reached the podium 10 times with five wins, two seconds and three thirds. In winning his first Pro Open title, Kamm dethroned Tucker Hibbert, the four-time defending champion who had won five of the previous six titles.

Five Polaris racers were in the top eight in Pro Open points. Petter Narsa (Hentges Racing) was fifth, Kyle Palin (Team LaVallee, Loctite, Polaris, Red Bull) was sixth, Ross Martin (Judnick Motorsports) was seventh and Corin Todd (Leighton Motorsports) was eighth.

In the final two rounds of Pro Lite racing, Jake Angove (Judnick Motorsports) won one final and won two of four heat races to take second place in the season points race. Nickolas Lorenz (Judnick Motorsports) took second in the final race of the season and Zak Mason (Team LaVallee, Loctite, Polaris, Red Bull) was third.

For the season, Angove had three wins and nine podium finishes, including seven in a row in the second half of the season. Joining him in the top 10 in points were Lorenz in third, Mason in fourth, Cole Cottew (Cottew Motorsports) in sixth and Evan Daudt (Daudt Racing) in seventh.

In the final two rounds of Pro-Am Women’s racing, Elina Ohman (Davies Racing) of Älvsbyn, Sweden, won two of four heat races and finished second in one final to easily secure the season points title. She won 14 of the season’s 16 finals, and 27 of 32 heat races.

Jakki Farmer (Fort Fremont Racing) finished fourth in points, Amanda Duitsman (Plaisted Racing) was fifth and Tausha Lange (Lange Racing) was sixth.

Polaris Industries Inc. (NYSE: PII) is a global powersports leader that has been fueling the passion of riders, workers and outdoor enthusiasts for more than 60 years. With annual 2016 sales of $4.5 billion, Polaris’ innovative, high-quality product line-up includes the RANGER®, RZR® and Polaris GENERAL™ side-by-side off-road vehicles; the Sportsman® and Polaris ACE® all-terrain off-road vehicles; Indian Motorcycle® midsize and heavyweight motorcycles; Slingshot® moto-roadsters; and Polaris RMK®, INDY®, Switchback® and RUSH® snowmobiles. Polaris enhances the riding experience with parts, garments and accessories, along with a growing aftermarket portfolio, including Transamerican Auto Parts. Polaris’ presence in adjacent markets globally includes military and commercial off-road vehicles, quadricycles, and electric vehicles. Proudly headquartered in Minnesota, Polaris serves more than 100 countries across the globe.

Visit polaris.com for more information.

Trending Now



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Comments